Mike Smith

1.7.4 Mac Yosemite - Can't Get Past Security Issue

4 posts in this topic

When I run the app, I get the following message: [b]"Synergy.app" would like to control this computer using accessibility features. Grant access to this application in Security & Privacy preferences, located in Security Preferences.[/b] Fine, I understand what is going on. So I click the "Open System Preferences" button and Synergy shows up in the list of apps to trust. I check the checkbox and try to run Synergy again and I keep getting presented with the same message above over and over.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm having the same issue. I would bet it has to do with a preferences caching service that I believe to be new with 10.9. It bit me REALLY hard when trying to move ARD settings between computers. Changes to files on disk would only be caught after a reboot. There's a lot of info here: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?s ... 8042828630 Killing my user's cfprefsd did not resolve. Killing ALL cfprefsd processes did not resolve. [code]defaults read com.apple.universalaccessAuthWarning.plist[/code] did not resolve either. Nor does it reflect what I see in the system preference pane. Nor does it change if I select Deny for Synergy. I guess I'll resort to a reboot, and follow up with results. Frustrating.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Took a reboot on both of my Macs, no way I could find around it. 10.11 public beta build 15A278b on the server and 10.10.4 on a client.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ah ha! I don't have a Mac, so I can't actually try this, but Mac and Linux use similar systems for system settings so I can offer a guess. After some research on the link you gave above and some other sites [url]https://discussions.apple.com/docs/DOC-4301[/url] You may be able to simply delete the file containing data for your particular issue. From the article I linked, you would pretty much just delete the appropriate .plist file in ~/Library/Preferences/ folder. Please be careful about what you delete, my guess is that these files are generated when you use the Preferences app, but still, it's an educated guess :? That would be the place I would start. Delete the plist file, reboot, and reset your Synergy stuff and hope OS X can figure it out this time! Please let me know if you get it back up and running.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now