Pward

How to shutdown Synergy?

3 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

A really basic question I know, but there is no obvious way to quit Synergy that I can see (aside from killing it in task manager in Windows?).

New releases will not install cleanly while the original is running. Hang on validating install.....

It seems as if 2.0.7 re instates a tray icon in Windows but this only allows enabling/disabling and quitting the tray icon. 

It's not even possible to get to the setup window without re starting the app.

Please add to the tray app the ability to display the config window

Please add to the config window the ability to quit Synergy and enable/disable automatic startup.

Edited by Pward

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Pward said:

It's not even possible to get to the setup window without re starting the app.

Please add to the tray app the ability to display the config window

Great point, we are planning to add a shortcut from the tray icon to reopen the config app. This would be handy, out of interest, why do you need to reconfigure so often?

1 hour ago, Pward said:

Please add to the config window the ability to quit Synergy and enable/disable automatic startup.

We are considering this. What problem are you having that would be solved by this option? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nick,

Thanks for your quick reply.

Re: Please add to the tray app the ability to display the config window.

At this time I mainly need the config app because of an issue where using the mouse/touchpad/keyboard of one of my machines (Win10 laptop) transfers control to that keyboard/touchpad/mouse (admittedly I generally use the laptop keyboard by mistake as it's right there instead of my main keyboard).

However I need to use the config window to return control to my main Synergy server mouse/keyboard (Fedora server).

Re: Please add to the config window the ability to quit Synergy and enable/disable automatic startup.

Updating to a new release seems to hang on 'validating installation', also messages about existing Synergy running. 

Would like to be able to shut it down. Also with other random issues where it's been necessary to restart Synergy, but no easy way to shut it down.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now