Moderator

How do I disable clipboard synchronization between computers?

7 posts in this topic

I have my work laptop and my home desktop PC side by side all the time and I want to disable clipboard sharing/synchronization to prevent accidental leakage of information where it shouldn't be. 

Also, it would be nice to have a full configuration menu where I can tweak everything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yup. Lots of people are looking to have tweak-ability. Probably in the next version.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is also a must-have; considering downgrading to Synergy 1 because this is not able to be disabled while I'm on work hours.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Update: A solution has been discovered for this issue

 

Solution: Got my refund and bought Stardock Multiplicity which is 700% better (proven by science)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/23/2018 at 6:37 PM, Moderator said:

Solution: Got my refund and bought Stardock Multiplicity which is 700% better (proven by science)

Looks very promising..

I already abandoned Synergy 2 (which doesn't deserve PRO extension) and went back to 1.

Now it seems to be time to move on to something else. Symless can keep my money.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hope you are very happy with the competing product.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's how I solved this.

1. When launching the Synergy server, in the main server window, notice the option for "Use existing configuration".  We'll name a config file here, but need to create one first ...

2. Check the folder C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Temp, of course replacing USERNAME with your actual Windows username.  There should be a file named something like qt_temp.Xy5678, with the last four characters random.

3. Open the file in your favorite text editor, search for the the following line, and replace true with false
clipboardSharing = true

4. Save the file as C:\Users\USERNAME\synergy.sgc

5. Back in the server window, select "Use existing configuration" and then browse for the newly saved file.

Should be all set!  So you do have ability to tweak the settings, but you need to know the format of this file.  You'll have to repeat this process if you ever want to configure interactively in the future.

Michaelson Britt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now