Hello! 👋

These forums are now archived (read only).

Join us on Discord.

Command line parameter to start hidden.

Craig Hamm
I'm not a software developer, but I think it should be pretty easy to be able to pass a parameter to Synergy to startup in hidden mode. There is already a menu option to hide the GUI, and it works perfectly. I would like to create a startup shortcut for something like "C:\Program Files\Synergy\Synergy.exe --hidden" and the icon would just live in my taskbar. Since the system service interacts with the desktop, it would seem to make sense from a design standpoint, and many other applications (Apache and mySQL, for example) work this way. The icon already indicates whether the service is running or not, and if you wanted to get fancy, you could even add some other useful visual indicators, such as connection status. But just adding a startup parameter to start hidden would be very nice. Thank you!
  • 1 year later...
I would love to see this. Sometimes I need to stop and restart the server because of the bug at selecting text in Outlook. Would be a lot faster if I didn't need to start the Synergy GUI manually beforehand.
Joel Wyrick