cccconor2

Changed server PC name, now Synergy displays 2 of the same machine

2 posts in this topic

Freshly (bought) and installed Synergy, with the hope of setting up my Win7 machine as server and Debian machine as client. I ran into a few problems getting the Debian machine to be recognised as the client but that is a separate issue that I think I have figured out how to solve when my current problem is solved.

I read from previous posts that having a "-" in a screen/host name can cause problems in Synergy, so I changed my Win7 (server) machine's name so that it does not have a "-" in it. However, when I relaunched Synergy, both the new machine name and old machine name appear in the window. I have tried multiple times to edit the config file in AppData to get rid of my old machine name but it won't budge. Every time I relaunch Synergy the edited config file gets overwritten and the old machine name gets put back in. I have tried uninstalling Synergy, deleting the config files, the registry keys and reinstalling but the same thing happened.

Looking at the log files, Synergy now thinks they are 2 separate machines. Attached is a picture my Synergy window.

synergy_problem.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The software downloads the config from the cloud, ergo writing over your local changes. 

Also the ability to rename/ remove machines is not yet available. as it's a new name I assume it thinks it's a new machine and added it. I currently have three computers when I'm only using a 2nd mac in place of my mac mini that's not online right now. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now