d10n

Synergy 2 doesn't start on Arch Linux

7 posts in this topic

Without synergyd started:

% synergy2
"[ Config  ] [2017-10-10T19:48:06] INFO: log filename: /home/user/.config/Symless/Synergy/synergy.log" 

QObject::startTimer: Timers cannot have negative intervals
"[ Config  ] [2017-10-10T19:48:06] DEBUG: connecting to service" 

QGLXContext: Failed to create dummy context
qrc:/ActivationPage.qml:65:21: QML Image: Binding loop detected for property "sourceSize.height"
Failed to create OpenGL context for format QSurfaceFormat(version 2.0, options QFlags<QSurfaceFormat::FormatOption>(), depthBufferSize 24, redBufferSize -1, greenBufferSize -1, blueBufferSize -1, alphaBufferSize -1, stencilBufferSize 8, samples -1, swapBehavior QSurfaceFormat::SwapBehavior(DoubleBuffer), swapInterval 1, profile  QSurfaceFormat::OpenGLContextProfile(NoProfile)) 
[1]    12690 abort (core dumped)  synergy2

With synergyd started:

% synergy2
"[ Config  ] [2017-10-10T19:55:59] INFO: log filename: /home/user/.config/Symless/Synergy/synergy.log" 

QObject::startTimer: Timers cannot have negative intervals
"[ Config  ] [2017-10-10T19:55:59] DEBUG: connecting to service" 

RawSocket handshake reply received
connect successful: valid handshake
RX preparing to receive message ..
TX message (126 octets) ...
TX message: hello ["default", {"authid":"", "roles":{"subscriber":{}, "publisher":{}, "caller":{"features":{"call_timeout":true}}, "callee":{"features":{"call_timeout":true}}}, "authmethods":[]}]
RX message (85 octets) ...
RX message received.
RX message: welcome [2257228500326156, {"roles":{"dealer":{"features":{"call_timeout":true, "progressive_call_results":true}}, "broker":{}}}]
"[ Config  ] [2017-10-10T19:55:59] DEBUG: connected to service" 

RX preparing to receive message ..
TX message (21 octets) ...
TX message: subscribe [1, {}, "synergy.core.log"]
TX message (24 octets) ...
TX message: subscribe [2, {}, "synergy.service.log"]
TX message (26 octets) ...
TX message: subscribe [3, {}, "synergy.screen.status"]
TX message (25 octets) ...
TX message: subscribe [4, {}, "synergy.screen.error"]
TX message (29 octets) ...
TX message: subscribe [5, {}, "synergy.profile.snapshot"]
RX message (4 octets) ...
RX message received.
RX message: subscribed [1, 1]
RX preparing to receive message ..
RX message (4 octets) ...
RX message received.
RX message: subscribed [2, 2]
RX preparing to receive message ..
RX message (4 octets) ...
RX message received.
RX message: subscribed [3, 3]
RX preparing to receive message ..
RX message (4 octets) ...
RX message received.
RX message: subscribed [4, 4]
RX preparing to receive message ..
RX message (4 octets) ...
RX message received.
RX message: subscribed [5, 5]
RX preparing to receive message ..
QGLXContext: Failed to create dummy context
qrc:/ActivationPage.qml:65:21: QML Image: Binding loop detected for property "sourceSize.height"
Failed to create OpenGL context for format QSurfaceFormat(version 2.0, options QFlags<QSurfaceFormat::FormatOption>(), depthBufferSize 24, redBufferSize -1, greenBufferSize -1, blueBufferSize -1, alphaBufferSize -1, stencilBufferSize 8, samples -1, swapBehavior QSurfaceFormat::SwapBehavior(DoubleBuffer), swapInterval 1, profile  QSurfaceFormat::OpenGLContextProfile(NoProfile)) 
[1]    13047 abort (core dumped)  synergy2

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately, beta 4 just doesn't like Linux distros. Beyond Nick's early troubleshooting comments: https://symless.com/synergy-2-beta4-troubleshooting  there's just not much to offer except to wait for beta 5. It should drop in the next couple of weeks. 

The lack of operability on Linux was a big disappoint for beta 4 and the promise is that whole layers of code had to be removed/rewritten to correct it. Meantime, many of us, Linux users, have dropped back to the more stable version 1.

A few have opted for [email protected] .

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

did you try:?

dont just read the post but also 80% of the comments, it might help.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RC1 is out on AUR, ive had to reboot my laptop after instaling over beta 4. On my PC I could use it right away after removing beta 4 first(to test if it would install on fresh system, figured it  would be the best)

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

oh and if you really want the latest version, you can edit the pkgbuild to link to somewhere you host the .deb, and copy make sure there is nothing done with the .install script(or edit it yourself)

@Nick Bolton, I know ive said this a million times, but having private(downloadable) cloud servers is really nice. you can even have people using an outdated client, as long as they have the same version cloud server. + offline usage, + users can have full control if they want to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, jaap aarts said:

@Nick Bolton, I know ive said this a million times, but having private(downloadable) cloud servers is really nice. you can even have people using an outdated client, as long as they have the same version cloud server. + offline usage, + users can have full control if they want to.

This is planned for 2.1, but could also be in 2.2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now