fdaniel

The executable ... could not be started, although it does exist.

15 posts in this topic

Hi,
first of all thank you for developing this product, it's very good. I have been using Synergy for a couple of weeks now and today I got this error message saying: "The executable /Applications/Synergy.app/Contents/MacOS/synergys could not be successfully started, although it does exist. Please check if you have sufficient permissions to run this program." Until now everything worked fine. I haven't changed anything - neither in the Synergy config nor in my Mac's system/security configs. I googled the problem but I only found a closed GitHub issue from you, where no actual solution is provided. Could you please help me out? I already re-installed the application, it didn't do anything - my assumption is that I'd have to delete the config file itself so that a clean install would re-create a (hopefully) working one. FYI on my Windows machine (I use it as the client part) everything works perfectly meaning it listens to a server without error. I hope you can help me with this problem. :)

Key information:

Kind Regards,
Daniel

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-21 um 21.03.06.png

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-21 um 21.04.08.png

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-21 um 21.04.36.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Paul Suarez I bought and downloaded the product one week ago. As I noticed the error today (yesterday it worked flawlessly), I removed it and downloaded again from your homepage. My "About Synergy" below:

 

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-21 um 21.22.31.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe I should manually set read and write permissions on the synergys executable using "chmod"? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've just uninstalled the old and installed the mentioned version and rebooted my Mac. I'm still getting the same error on initialization. :(

Should I try and delete the config files manually, so that a new installation would re-create it? As you know, uninstalling a program on Mac doesn't automatically delete config files stored in a completely different directory. (Just trying to figure it out on my own...)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! This solved the issue, I can successfully connect to my Windows PC. However, I also get the "WARNING: unknown quartz event type: 0x1d" message constantly spammed on server side as described in the GitHub issue. Not that it bothers me at the moment, but I wanted to let you know. Thank you for the help! :)

For anyone out there who might stumble across this thread, here's the solution:

  • Exit Synergy
  • Open Terminal
  • "rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.http-symless-com.Synergy.plist" then hit Enter
  • "rm -rf ~/Library/Synergy/" Enter
  • "killall -u $USER cfprefsd" and again Enter
  • Restart Synergy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also works for me. I just want to let Synergy team know i got this problem when I install XAMPP

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

I'm having the same issue.  Willing to try the steps listed in the comment on GitHub, but the link above from Paul Suarez is a dead link :(

https://github.com/symless/synergy/issues/5901#issuecomment-286767441

Does anyone have instructions for how to fix this?  (Version 1 latest, on OSX).

Thanks for any help.

Oh, I should mention... this has been a stable installation for at least a week or so, and to my knowledge I have not installed any new software which could have caused a permissions change to any files.

Screenshot 2018-06-20 09.54.18.png

Edited by Christopher Mann

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Found an additional relevant bit of debugging info...

A stop/start within a running instance of the app repeatedly shows the aforementioned error message.

However, a full quit/start of the app clears the condition and it starts OK.  Hope that helps for others trying to figure out how to get around this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
53 minutes ago, Christopher Mann said:

Found an additional relevant bit of debugging info...

A stop/start within a running instance of the app repeatedly shows the aforementioned error message.

However, a full quit/start of the app clears the condition and it starts OK.  Hope that helps for others trying to figure out how to get around this.

Have you tried reinstalling the software or repairing the permissions on the entire Synergy folder?

If not, use AppCleaner or a similar piece of software to completely remove all Synergy-related files from the system and then proceed to retry the installation.

Edited by Kelvin Tran

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Kelvin.  Thanks for the suggestions.

Do you have a link handy for the permissions fix?  Pardon me if it was mentioned earlier in this thread and I missed it.  I'd like to try, if this happens again.

Unless I'm missing something reinstalling is actually counterproductive here.  Restarting fixed the issue.  So to put it another way "why reinstall when simply restarting does the trick?"  A reinstall would also count as a 'restart' but indirectly.  I take your point though; if this happens *again* then yes I'll start looking for better long-term solutions and maybe a full reinstall might provide that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Christopher Mann said:

Hi Kelvin.  Thanks for the suggestions.

Do you have a link handy for the permissions fix?  Pardon me if it was mentioned earlier in this thread and I missed it.  I'd like to try, if this happens again.

Unless I'm missing something reinstalling is actually counterproductive here.  Restarting fixed the issue.  So to put it another way "why reinstall when simply restarting does the trick?"  A reinstall would also count as a 'restart' but indirectly.  I take your point though; if this happens *again* then yes I'll start looking for better long-term solutions and maybe a full reinstall might provide that.

Correction: a reinstall would not count as a restart. In some situations, both will work. However, in situations where I suspect that broken dynamic file links or other issues with such a connotation are involved, I will suggest reinstall above all else. 

A reinstallation is counterproductive for a short period of time, but it's a necessary evil if it works to fix the issue that you're having. Permissions repair were not mentioned in this thread, you can research that further if you'd like, I don't recall how permissions repair would be handled, only that it's something in Disk Utility.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now