Borut

Auto config for client not working

8 posts in this topic

Server: Windows 10
Client: Ubuntu 16.04
Version: 1.8.1

When I installed the app on ubuntu, and wanted to start it as a client, I always get "Please fill in a hostname for the synergy client to connect to." when the "Auto config" is ticked. The "Server IP" input is disabled and empty. When I untick the "Auto config", the input gets enabled, but I think that's somehow not the point of the "Auto config" functionality I would like to have.

Edited by Borut

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @Borut. Please send us a screenshot of the Synergy interface on that machine. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's because your machine has a lot of network adapters enabled. It would be best for you to enter your server's IP address on that Server IP box for it to properly look for the server on the right adapter it has connection to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 09/05/2017 at 4:07 AM, Paul Suarez said:

That's because your machine has a lot of network adapters enabled. It would be best for you to enter your server's IP address on that Server IP box for it to properly look for the server on the right adapter it has connection to.

Is this to say in other words that Auto Config works better if we manually configure unwanted adapters by disabling them?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @Borut and @d. What I really meant was, it is normal for the IP box to be graded out once the Auto config is ticked. That's because Synergy will automatically select which interface to connect to once Auto config is enabled.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FYI - I just had this happen and realized I was on the wrong wifi network, so it couldn't see the server. So this error you posted, essentially means the auto-config failed because it couldn't find a server.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Topher Fangio said:

I was on the wrong wifi network,

Actually it shows that it is working since it can't see your machine on any of those networks you are connected to before. That's why it wanted you to manually put it in since the other machine is not existing to any of those network you are connected to initially.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now